cygnusnero

BLOGS

17/03/2024: A somewhat spoiler-free review of Eulogy
Eulogy is a audio theatre experience by Darkfield where you are a companion to a chaperone that guides you through the floors of a hotel room. Most if not all of Darkfield's experiences have some sort of gimmick (for a lack of better word) to them. For example, Flight simulated the rumbling of a plane and delivered the story through its loudspeakers or Coma, which uses scents alongside audio to make the experience more immersive to the listener, and in this case, Eulogy had the listener answering "yes" or "no" to questions that seemed innocuous at first, but later came full circle (at least most of them to my knowledge).
(Fun fact, all the "suites" we were seated in were named after famous psychologists. Think Alzheimer, Milgram, or Patterson. My partner was sat next to me in Maslow, while I was in Pavlov.)
Walking into one of the four shipping containers set up at the art show, we were met with twenty five steel seats fashioned after laundry carts, with a pillow on each seat. Once I tested my headphones and speech recognition, we were off. Hearing the general atmosphere with each of the other suite names being called out was really something else (yes I was straining my ears to hear Maslow as well as Pavlov). The question-and-answer mechanic was really fun to work with, but sometimes, it was hard to pick up at which points I was expected to answer with "yes" or "no". There also were a few jumpscares in this, which were executed SO well - you could feel the scare in your chest, which is impressive considering that Eulogy was exclusively audio save for the rumbling of the floor under your suite.
As the story came to a head and tensions rose between us, our chaperone Elle, and another chaperone, Colin, we see the suspense bloom into an intense climax, leading into multiple endings based on the choices you make. Listening to what I personally saw as the epilogue of the story opened my eyes to the context that I was searching for throughout the whole story - by design, of course. Ultimately, even though I had what people would consider the "worse" ending, my curiosity, like that of a cat's, was sated.
Eulogy plays on confusion - on the fear one gets when given no context, unlike the people around them. It's the fear that you get when you walk into an exam with minimal preparation, being the new guy at the job with no idea of the workplace culture. The fear of messing up. Of missing a social cue or commiting a faux pas that might get you burnt.
And it is terrifying.

9/10

26/02/2024: First blog post
I've been working on this website for a little less than a year now and decided to change the colours up a bit. Initially this website was supposed to be somewhere I'd be able to put my webcomics without having to worry about likes, marketing or engagement. I was gonna keep posting my art to social media, but even that's becoming competitive, and I find myself focusing on what brings the most likes as opposed to what brings me happiness and joy.

So, I decided to add my more recent artwork onto this website, and decided to frankly, not give a shit about what other people think about said art for once.

In other news, I am currently listening to The Magnus Protocol, and I've really gotten into it. There's only 7 episodes out so far, but Rusty Quill's really kept the vibe going from The Magnus Archives, I might get around to making a separate blog post about my thoughts on the podcast. Someone in a Discord server I'm in recommended me The Cursed Heart by Derin Edala, a magic school book. Frankly, Harry Potter's left a sour taste in my mouth for that subgenre, but I'm gonna give TCH a chance - especially since it's protagonist, Kayden, is a black transmasculine character, and it is written by a transmasculine author.